• February 16, 2015





    The Board recognizes students and staff each month at the regularly scheduled board meeting.  The following were recognized at the February meeting. 


    Kubacak Elem. – 5th Grade Safety Patrol were recognized for their exceptional leadership skills:  Allison Walton, Gericka Jankowski, Katie Wilks, Zachery Cotton, Abbie Hart, Taya Garland, Noe Rico, Abigail Blundell, Kailey Buck, E.J. Wagner, Blayne Recknor, Katy Rogillio, Jacob Cyr, Sully Perkins, Abbie Hardesty, Ava Leach, Shaye LaBeth and Caroline Boysen.


    Houston Livestock Show & Art Winners:  Aubrey Withers, RJW Elem.; Jake Hart, Kubacak Elem.  Jr. High- Michael Moellenkamp, 8th Grade; Ethan Baccinelli, 6th Grade.  H.S. – Raven Gordon, 10th Grade; Pablo Esparza, 10th Grade.


    Jr. High -2nd Nine Weeks Pride Students are:  8th Grade – Gracie Hamilton, Tyler Sister, and Sarah Zaro.  7th Grade – Michael Wesley, Oldrich Firasek, Noah Silva, 6th Grade – Madison Hayes, Wirada “Mint” Khatsi and Adam Boehnke


    H.S. – Health Occupation Students of America (HOSA) Club students advancing to Area 2 Competition are:  Emily Hingle, Kaitlyn Richards, Tiffany Wick, Hailee Ferrino and Rainey Minks.  Teacher is Lacey Glover


    H.S. – Band students attended the annual UIL Solo and Ensemble contest at Pearland H.S.  The following students received a rating of Superior and will be advancing to State competition in Austin:  Matthew Warren, Adrian Boehnke, Haley Brantner, Peter Luong, Hallie Waghalter, Erica Werner, Darion Farina, John Keller, Ricky Lopez, Nathan McCarvell, Lizvette Rivera, Bryce Lewis, McKenzie Brown, Kason McCaskill, Grace Johnson, Allen Jorgenson, Kendall Kantowski, Ann Lummus, Jordan Mendoza, John Overbeck, Brad Pourchot, Brandon Thompson and Grace Wagner.  Directors are Matthew Raines and Patrick O’Donnell.


    H.S. – Student Julio Juarez is being recognized by SFJH Associate Principal, Mrs. Kim Ross for his heroic actions on December 17, 2014.  Julio was on the school bus that was involved in an accident.  The bus driver was injured an unable to implement an action plan.  Julio calmly moved the students to the front of the bus and was very compassionate and helpful to the upset students and injured bus driver.


    Finance Department – The SFISD Finance Department was awarded the Leadership Circle “Platinum” Award from the Comptroller of Public Accounts.  Platinum is the highest level of financial transparency.


    Transportation – Mr. Ron Willoughby was awarded the PCAT District bus driver of the year award.  Representative Mr. Tom Linklater presented him with a trophy, jacket and $100 check.  Congratulations to Mr. Willoughby!


    Congratulations to SFISD Employees of the Month for February:

    RJW- Debbie Maly

    Kubacak - Caren Hertenberger

    Jr. High - Kelly Logan

    H.S. - Peter Kinser

    Transp. - Deena Painter

    Maintenance - Stephen Russell

    Custodial - Aleida Benavides

    Child Nutrition - Robbie Spencer

    Admin. - Tia Timm



    • Monthly Reports
    • Revised Quarterly Investment Report Update
    • Property Value Study Appeals and Taxable Value Audits
    • Advanced Academics
    • District Wellness Program Update



    • Minutes for January 12, 2015 and January 19, 2015
    • Accounts payable of $648,170.95
    • Budget Amendment #6
    • Student Transfers
    • Assignment of District Records Management Officer



    • Approved donations of $5,000.00.
    • Approved Proclamation for the month of March 2015 as Texas Public Schools Month.
    • Approved Proclamation of the week of March 2-6, 2015 as National School Breakfast Week.
    • Approved the Resolution for the month of March as Social Worker Month in SFISD.
    • Denied the Request to Rescind the Tax Resale of Parcel #1095-000-0300-011.
    • Tabled the HVAC Contract Proposal with Letsos Company Mechanical Contractors for a future Board meeting.