• April 20, 2015





    The Board recognizes students and staff each month at the regularly scheduled board meeting.  The following were recognized at the April meeting. 



    Tribe students of the year for 3rd – 5th grade are: Jasmine Crouch, Brooklyn Cothey, Myriah Perez, Angel Romero, Bailey Bransdorf, Elsa Lopez, Madilyn Vaughn, Randee Lopez, Adia Austin, Gracie Rambin, Madison Elledge, John Garcia, Alexa Dean, Trenity Gonzales, Carson Dunham, Jenna Radicioni, Rory Vickery, Lindsay Kay, Natalie Higdon, Rylie Saenz and Franklyn Lewis.


    5th Grade Tribal Leaders Safety Patrol students are: Maddie Dunn, Justin Wade, Kevin Corn, Ty Pickett, Jacob Requenez, Olivia Sanchez, Samantha Browning, Jersie Pelham, Tristan Davila, Luke Auzston, Morgan Chapa, Patrick Polensky, Riley Raper, Kailey Buck and Gerika Jankowski.


    Jr. High

    Do the Write Thing Challenge Finalist are:  Preston Logan and Katheryn Sefcik


    Third Nine Weeks Pride Students are: Savannah Clark, Ashton Dobson, Ryleigh Mata, Juan Rodriguez, Annalisa Newton, Brook Hillman, Garrett Wilson, Savannah Vasquez and Bryce Burnam



    Student Landry Wills went to Houston just before Easter along with Susan Leining to serve the homeless food, clothing and toiletries. They also went to Quentin Mease Hospital where Landry donned a bunny suit and went room to room visiting and taking pictures with patients.


    SFHS Cheerleaders competed in the United Cheer Competition held at the Galveston Convention Center on March 7th.  They received National Champion in their division along with many other awards.  Congratulations to Christa Hedgpeth, Raynee Bynum, Haley Wooten, Harleigh Braddock, Aubrey Adkison, Dariann Sweeney, Megan Horn, Jada Chapman, Laura Parnell, Daltyn Gray, Gracie Carswell, Madison Smith, Marissa McCarvell, Jenna Wohleb, Maddie McCaskill, Sydney Walker, Jordan Rushing, Payge Wilson, Abby White and Ashley Johnson.


    Congratulations on a great first season for SFHS Bowling Team. Bowlers receiving awards were Lauren Rose, Girls 2nd Team All District and Drew Murff, Boys 2nd Team All District. Drew will compete with the All District team next month at the State All District Tournament in College Station.  Bryan Hardee and Andrew Wardrup were awarded honorable mention All District.  Coaches are Perry Murff and Judi Wardrup.


    SFHS Powerlifting Team had three student athletes to qualify for the 2015 Women’s State Powerlifting Meet in Corpus Christi on March 20th.  Sarah Buffington, Mykalah Flores-Laza and Taylor Barrow competed.  Taylor Barrow finished 4th in her weight class.


    SFHS Football players made commitments to play football at the college level.  Brandon Trigo, Texas A&T; Josh McKinney, Texas A&T; Hayden Evans, East

    Texas Baptist University; Phillip Maus, McMurry; Aaron Theut, McMurry and Timmy Alcala, McMurry.


    Softball player Shelbi Sunseri was selected as the NFCA player of the week for the South Central Region for the week of February 23, 2015.  Coach Katie Bush-Roberts nominated Shelbi for this award.


    SF Lady Soccer Team finished the season in 2nd place in District 23-5A.

    1st Team All District – Hunter Tyson, Jordan Crippin, Kindra Shaver, Caitlyn Bilbrey. 2nd Team All District – Rachel Ballew, Madison Bilbrey, Taylor Tyson and Sara Cox. Honorable Mention – Hunter Cole, Jessica Thielemann and Allie Moore.  Angel Cohen was named 23-5A Most Valuable Player.  Seniors: Jordan Crippin, Caitlyn Bilbrey, Kindra Shaver, Claire Woolsey and Hunter Tyson were also named to the 23-5A All-Academic Team.  Coach Ryan Cox was named 23-5A Coach of the Year!  Trainers: Hannah Blackwell and Emma Clark were also recognized.


    Transportation Dept. – Ron Willoughby and Rhonda Vaughn competed as a driver/monitor team in the National Special Needs Bus Road-E-O March 21st in Frisco, Texas.  They were one of only 2 teams representing Texas.  They placed 3rd behind teams from Maine and Michigan.

    Thomas Clement staff member from our Transportation Dept., was a winner in our “3 for me” moveband national challenge.  He met the goal of hitting 63 miles in 20 days.


    Child Nutrition Dept. – On April 8, 2015, Santa Fe H.S., Jr. High, Kubacak Elementary, and RJ Wollam Elementary cafeterias were awarded Gold Ribbon Awards at a ceremony held at Carbide Park in La Marque.  County Judge Mark Henry and Martin Entringer with the County Health District were on hand to present the award.  The Gold Ribbon Award commends food establishments that put forth efforts to assure the health and safety of the public they serve.  Congratulations to Food Service Director, Cherie Bowers and her entire staff.


    Librarians Week
    In honor of National Library Week in SFISD, the district recognized our librarians.  Danna Kubacak, H.S.; Susan Bunde, Jr. High; Jami Farb-Goodsell, Kubacak Elem.; Ann Eckermann, RJ Wollam Elem.  We are proud of our librarians and the leadership they provide for both students and staff.


    HEB Excellence in Education Awards Program – SFISD completed an application on-line answering questions regarding professional experiences, educational philosophies and achievements.  SFISD was named as a statewide semi-finalist in the first year of submitting an application.  The district was awarded $1,000 in HEB gift cards. 


    SFISD Employees of the Month for March:

    RJW- Anne Eckermann

    Kubacak - Laura Timmons

    Jr. High - Karen Brinegar

    H.S. - Linda Lovelady

    Transp. - Thomas Clement

    Maintenance - Irma Salazar

    Custodial - Amelia Zamora

    Child Nutrition - Cathy Harp

    Admin. - Darbi Harris



    • Monthly Reports
    • Staff Attendance 3rd Nine Weeks
    • Gap Time Resolution
    • 2nd Quarter Investment Report
    • S2 Security/Access Control Maintenance Agreement Update
    • SFISD Science Update





    • Proclaimed May 6, 2015 as School Nurses Day in Santa Fe ISD.
    • Approved the submission of a waiver request for modified schedule/State Assessment Testing Days at SFHS.
    • Approved the allocation of $60,000 from the Child Nutrition fund balance to the CN 2014-2015 budget for new serving lines at RJW.
    • Approved an interlocal agreement with TASB Supplemental Employee Benefits and SFISD.
    • Approved an interlocal agreement with Fort Worth ISD and SFISD to provide purchasing card services.
    • Approved the purchase of Skyward Student Management Suite, Fee Management Software.
    • Approved the Order authorizing the issuance, sale and delivery of SFISD Unlimited Tax Refunding Bonds, Series 2015
    • Approved 2015-2016 mileage rates of $3.25 per mile for regular and $3.05 per mile for special transportation to be charged for extracurricular trips.

    April Board Recognition Highlights Click Here