• May 15, 2017




    The Board recognizes students and staff each month at the regularly scheduled board meeting.  The following were recognized at the May meeting.

    RJW recognized their Tribe Students of the Year for demonstrating their Tribe traits all year long. Heather Armstrong, Kristopher Cagle, Elijah Devera, Emma English, Zackary Garcia, Weston Gerik, Mackenzie Good, Victor Jones, Laura Juarez, Paxton Kirby, Abbiegail Spain, Kinley Thomas, Cheyenne Burks, Blayne Daffern, Rivers Feldpausch, Cameron Hall, Mason Hallows, Aiden Hanssard, Arabella Lopez, Audrey Mann, Rhett McGuire, Makenzie Ott, Justin Connor Russell, Raylan Rodriguez, Kace Whitfield, Addison Arriaga, Alaine Castro, Hunter Featherly, Tucker Hansen, Joshua Hardcastle, Hunter Keown, Avery Kim, Piper Rickards, Maria Rodriguez, J.J. Saylor, Natalie Sanchez, Madalyn Utton, Colton Watkins, Mia Arundale, Colbie Ballard, Caden Carner, Naomi Cruz, Aiden Grenier, Lilly Jones, Skyler Kemp, Bayleigh Lewis, Tyler Newell, Garrett Powell, Kylah Taylor, Bryce Truelove and Danika Davis

    Kubacak Elementary recognized their 5th Grade Safety Patrol Students those present were: Madison Rosga, Madalyn Dreamer, Ryan Gardner, Alexisia McKinzie, Hunter Russell, Isabelle Biscamp, Cash McGee, Reagan Bratcher and Caleb McCollum

    Jr. High recognized several groups:

    • Band: for their achievements at their UIL Concert Contest. For the first time in over a decade, the Symphonic Band was awarded a Division I from all the judges on the music they prepared. Present were Brooke Burnett, Elizabeth Carr, Angelina Coulter, Tyler Dobson, Lauren Gardner, Jacob Garza, Jace Gidley, Lindsey Gilliam, Courtney Griffith, Tyler Harrison, Madison Hayes, Jacob Huskey, Gericka Jankowski, Cameron McCollum, Jacob Overbeck, Mya Perez, Myranda Perez, Amelia Rosier and Chelsea Stiles.
    • Student - Tyler Dobson as he earned a 7th place finish out of 28 other participants from across the state in the National History Day competition for his historical research paper titled Frederick Douglass: An Articulate Stand.
    • Cathy Bilbrey, Santa Fe Alum, lifelong resident and mother of children attending SFISD. Mrs. Bilbrey and her husband own CiCi’s Pizza in Victory Lakes/Bay Colony. She donates and personally delivers pizzas to our students and staff throughout the school year for different events. Ms. Hanssard presented her with a plaque to show our appreciation.

    H.S. recognized several groups:

    • Tennis: Bryce Jones a sophomore tennis player placed 2nd at the District 23-5A. She qualified to compete at the Regional Tennis Tournament on April 17th. Bryce is our first tennis player to qualify for regionals.
    • Golf: Jared Brown, Todd Penick, Damon Rabon, Kameron Skufca and Bailey Link won first place in District 23-5A as a team. Jared Brown won seconded place overall as an individual and Todd Penick placed 4th overall. Eric Grady, Camden Greenough, Wade Perkins, Kase Lackey and Justin Kirsch won second place in District as a team. Both teams advanced to the Regional Golf Tournament in Sealy where they placed 10th as a team.
    • Track and Field: Clayton Horn – Boys Pole Vault, District & Area Champion and Regional Qualifier; Caitlyn Garza – Girls Pole Vault, District & Area Champion and Regional Qualifier; Jay Mann – Boys Pole Vault, District & Area Silver Medalist and Regional Qualifier; Alexys Greenlaw – Girls Pole Vault, District Silver Medalist and Area Bronze Medalist and Regional Qualifier. Their coaches are Richard Davis and Billy Miller.
    • Girls Soccer: The Lady Indians were 23-5A District Co-Champs for the first time in school history. They are: Natassia Kirby, Robin Ford, Sydney Walker, Mia Peloquin, Alyssa Williams, Brooke Sumbles, Kaitlyn Richards, Hunter Cole, Taylor Tyson, Sara Cox, Allie Moore, Caroline Woolsey, Jessica Thielemann, Abby Martinez, Rachel Bejarano, Madi Bilbrey, Courney Nix, Reagan Israel and Lauren Kessler. Their coaches are: Ryan Cox and Gus Montemayor

    2017 Galveston County Fair Results – Nine SFISD seniors received scholarships from the GCF&R ranging from $1,000.00 to $5,000.00. Ag Mechanics – Wood Projects – 1st Place. Steer Showmanship Champions were Jr. – Cash McGee and Sr. – Skylar Barber Swine Showmanship Champion – Sr.-Shelby Freudensprung

    H-E-B Excellence In Education Awards – For the third year, SFISD has been nominated for the District award. We are extremely honored to have been selected as a Statewide Semi-finalist. As a Semi-finalist, the District was awarded a $500.00 H-E-B gift card.

    Employees of the Month –for May are: Mona Garcia, RJW; Julie Welch, Kubacak; Josh Grenier, Jr. High; Carl Matejka, H.S.; Amanda Traill, Transportation; Michael Flora, Maintenance; Michelle Lunsford, Custodian; Sheri Fisher, Child Nutrition; Michelle Reynolds, Admin.


    • Monthly Reports
    • CFO Mrs. Townsend updated the Board on the Quarterly Investment Report for the 3rd Quarter.
    • Rick Morrill presented the Board with the annual Technology Department Report.


    • Minutes for April 17, 2017 and May 1, 2017
    • Accounts Payable $605,341.03
    • Budget Amendment #9
    • Student Transfers
    • High School Yearbook Contract with Balfour
    • Contract with Accent Food Service, LLC
    • Pest Control Contract with Bugwacker Termite and Pest
    • SPA Co-Op Ice Cream Renewal
    • SPA Co-Op Produce Renewal
    • SPA Co-Op Bread Renewal
    • SPA Co-Op Milk Renewal
    • SPA Co-Op Grocery Renewal with Gordon Food Services


    • Approved revisions to Policy DHE(LOCAL) as presented. 
    • Approved to adopt the proposed compensation plan for the 2017-2018 school year for all employees and job families as presented.
    • Approved the District’s submission of a Low Attendance Day Expedited Waiver to TEA based on low student attendance on April 18, 2017, due to inclement weather.
    • Approved the 2nd year of a 3 year Sports Medicine Services Agreement with Houston Methodist St. Johns Hospital.
    • Approved the annual service contract with Schneider Electric.
    • Approved a contract with TASB Energy Services.