• February 20, 2017




    The Board recognizes students and staff each month at the regularly scheduled board meeting.  The following were recognized at the February meeting.

    Kubacak Elementary recognized its 5th grade tribal leaders safety patrol: Aidan Green Abney, Taylor Higgs, Kassidy Moffett, Holden Weaver, Hayden Yarbrough, Jax Garrett, Layla Gallegos, Christopher Baulis, Madison Jones, Emily Miller, Sage Lebrun, Carlie Young, Patrick Hayes, Serenity Gonzalez, Atticus Wood, Krista Long, Grant Eckenrode, Haylee Mancuso, Alberto Rios, Jr., Aidan Anderson, Sydney Tanner, Melody Yeager, America Martinez, Rian Robertson, Wyatt Moore, Riley Childs, Jeremiah Garcia, Joselynn Garcia, Ryder Muiller and Brandi Hall.

    Jr. High recognized their 8th Grade A Football team who won District with a 7-1 record. Brenton Beohm, Tristan Cundiff, Johnathan Domino, Bruce Erekson, Albert Garza, Joseph Gibbs, Tyler Glover, Tripp Godinich, Cody Hebert, Kane Hopkins, Shawn Isreal, Harrison Mai, Trent Mikes, Gaige Mitchell, Robert Montemayor, Cayden Moss, Tristen Nabors, Jose Orellana, James Stidham, Alex Trevino, Trevor Trexler, Tyler Trexler, Marcus Villarreal, Holden Wainwrigt and Cody Wilson. Coaches are John Norton, Graham Hardy, Shawn Best and Chance Cyprien.

    H.S. is honoring Universal Technical Institute 2016-17 Top Tech Challenge 3rd Place winners Bryce Gillespie and Tanner Grady. These students both won $5,000 in college scholarships and a trophy for their hard work on a written test and a practical application hands-on project.

    H.S. recognized their 2016 Varsity Volleyball Team with an overall district record of 9 and 7. Elena Dondonay – 1st Team All District, 2nd Team All County and Academic All District; Cassi Cruz – Academic All District; Jillian Gibbs – Honorable Mention All District and Academic All District; Kylie Verm; Tori Smith – 1st Team All District, 2nd Team All County; Alyssa Williams-Academic All District; Breanne Harris-2nd Team All District, All County Honorable Mention, Academic All District; Julia White-All District Honorable Mention, Academic All District; Taylor Oster; Maddie Schulze-All District Honorable Mention, Academic All District; Kira Brown-Academic All District and Academic All State; Kahla Miller; Tanna Freudensprung-Academic All District, 2nd Team All District, All County Honorable Mention; Arynn Cross-Academic All District, 2nd Team All District, All County Honorable Mention, Academic All State. Awards presented at the annual volleyball banquet were Most Valuable Play- Tori Smith; Offensive Player- Breanne Harris; Defensive Players- Arynn Cross, Tanna Freudensprung; Most Promising Player- Elena Dondonay; Fighting Heart- Cassi Cruz; Booster Club Scholarships: Kira Brown, Arynn Cross, Tanna Freudensprung and Kahla Miller; Dana Marabella Scholarship-Tanna Freudensprung; Anna Marie Milligan Scholarship- Arynn Cross

    H.S. recognized Lauren Schanfish who was part of the Texas Music Educators Association All-State Choir. Lauren competed against several hundred students within our area to be a part of this. Her teacher is Gunnar Tietge.

    H.S. also recognized students involved in this year’s district wide musical, “High School Musical” – Laramie Thompson, Haley Pyle, Jase O’Brien, Jonathan Stanton, Angelina Robinson, Isaac Martinez and Charles Bertolino. Teacher and Producer is Mr. Gunnar Tietge.

    Stand Up For Public Education a TASB initiated program to recognize the generous assistance provided to Districts by businesses and other community organizations. SFISD recognized Gulf Coast Educators and representative Jamieson Mackay. Ms. Hanssard presented him with a certificate of appreciation.

    Employees of the Month – Amy McLemore, RJW; Sharon Mutina, Kubacak; Kristen Lawrence, Jr. High; Robert Perkins, H.S.; Lawrence Lusignan, Transportation; Stephen Russell, Maint; Consuelo Castillo, Custodial; Connie Turner, Nutrition; Brittany Shuman, Admin.


    • Monthly Reports
    • Indian Success Academy 


    • Minutes for January 19, 2017 and January 23, 2017.
    • Accounts Payable $722,669.12
    • Budget Amendment #6
    • Galveston County Fair & Rodeo Special Days Resolution
    • Commodity Processors for Food Purchasing Cooperative
    • Student Transfers